RSS Feed

Days 13 & 14 Completed. Bring on 75. WKND ED.

Posted on

Instead of a lesson learned, I’m going to opt for a quote that I heard this past weekend that made me think deeply about it’s intentions.

“When you feel in your gut what you are and then dynamically pursue it–don’t back down and don’t give up–then you’re gonna mystify a lot of folks.”

Bob Dylan

 

The weekend is coming to a close, another 2 days of  water induced living made me feel good. The week ahead lies ripe with opportunity and troubles, how I react to each is what’s important.

Maybe I’ve figured something out. Just maybe. In the endless struggle to find balance between everything life has to offer, I constantly end up with a feeling that I’m behind and not focusing enough. Well the problem is, there is too much to focus on and filtering out what you truly enjoy and what you’re doing just for the looks is the tricky part.

 

I’ve figured out what I truly enjoy. Or at least I think I have. Still, I have a hard time squeezing in everything that I’d like to do. Aw if only there were more hours in a day, or at least more hours in a morning.

That’s where the weekend comes in. Use the weekend. That’s what I must constantly remind myself. Yes, I just finished a week at school/work and the  easiest thing to do on Friday evening would be to stop by the liquor store on the way home and crack into one soon thereafter. Can’t do it. Can’t do it. Turn me over, I’m getting crispy,  I’m done. I’m in my early twenties and I’m living like I’m in my mid-thirties. I know once you’re out of college, you want to feel grown up because well, you are a grown up. But Jesus H, it’s like the optimistic attitude was traded for a college degree and a healthy dose of pessimism. Is it really that bad? Is my job so sh*tty that I cannot wait to get out of that place come Friday and in to the nearest bar? No. It’s not. I just decide that is so I react accordingly. Maybe, I can twist it around and think to myself, “I’ll head home and work on whatever it is I want to improve in tonight. That’s what I’ll do this Friday.”

I’m sure going to try. I feel like the weekend is turning into wasted time. I go out, get drunk and end up sleeping somewhere other than my own bed. Yes, I may miss out on the opportunity to cultivate relationships, social skills and many other benefits but to hell with it. I’m in my twenties. I think that means it’s the only time in my life that I’m going to be given the chance to be this selfish. To find out what I can do and screw everyone else. Time is valuable, and it may boil down to how you affected others while you were alive, or it could be how you used your time to develop yourself. Point being, find out what is you believe in and make sure you go after it with everything you have.

 

Tasks Completed February 11, 2012:

-Yoga (1 hour)

-Dance Practice (30 minutes)

-Singing Practice (30 minutes)

-Art Drawing of Still Life (1 hour)

Tasks Completed February 12, 2012:

-Singing Practice (30 minutes)

-Dance Practice (30 minutes)

-Work (5 hours)

Leave a Reply

