RSS Feed

Days 5, 6 And 7 All Finished. 82 More Days To Go.

Posted on

Lesson Learned: Doing something for someone else brings balance to a busy life. All too often, I am consumed with what I have to plan, start and finish that I forget there are 7 billion other people on the planet. Being selfless, even in the smallest way pays big dividends in the end. 

Okay, I slacked a little bit. I missed 2 days of entries and I haven’t even gotten through the first week. That’ s not to say that I didn’t accomplish anything during the past two days, I just didn’t document it. I’m finally back home after a week of house-sitting followed by being snowed in at work for a night. Glad to be home, not so glad about the mess I returned to.

A few things I have noticed so far after the first week. I am being too vague with my goals. I want to improve in a variety of tasks  but I don’t have any measurable ways of testing my improvement. I need directions, I need to know where I am going before I assert this effort and end up spinning my tires. So let me do this real quick….

Dance-Attend at least 2 classes each week.  Practice for 3 hours outside of class each week. Video tape myself now and at the end of the 90 days to see improvement. I’ll come up with movements I want to work on each week. This week it is the Harlem Shuffle, Robot leg walk,  Finger Waves, Control Waves that can go through my whole body and Chest Isolations. 

Singing-Attend my singing lesson each week. Practice for 3 hours outside of class each week. Record myself now and at the end of the 90 days to see my improvement (if any). I’ll post singing exercises and songs I would like to work on as I learn them from class. As of now, I would like to have ‘Let It Be’ down strong by the end of the 90 days.

Yoga-Attend 4 Yoga classes each week. Plain and simple. I’m hoping continuous practice will have me in shape for skiing season NEXT year. If anything, I would like work on some inversion poses.

Art-Attend all my Art classes and put forth a committed effort each project. Don’t try to make a masterpiece right off the bat, I’m going to need to crawl for a while before I can walk. One day hopefully, I’ll be able to run. I would like to have at least 5 pieces that I can put in my portfolio by the end of the 90 days. 

HTML- Attend all my Web Design courses and assemble some knowledge of HTML and CSS. This topic is fuzzy for me still, I’m still trying to find a measurable way of seeking improvement. I’ll have to update this one. 

Money-Save $, Save $ and $ave Money. I’ll break this into chunks. Have $3700 saved by March 9. I want to be in my own place by my birthday. That’s June 25, 2012. 

That’s it. This is an ever-changing idea. The only constant is change.

Tasks completed on Friday, February 3.

-Weight Workout (40 minutes)

-Work (6 1/2 hours)

Tasks completed for Saturday, February 4.

-Dance practice (20 minutes and it was sloppy)

-Singing practice ( 35 minutes with ‘Let It Be’ and other Beatles & Queen tunes)

-Work (3 hours)

-Team Treehouse Time (30 minutes)

Tasks completed for Sunday, February 5.

-Hot Yoga (75 minutes)

-Dance Practice (30 minutes)

-Singing Practice (15 minutes)

-REST

Leave a Reply

