RSS Feed

Ready. Set. Blog.

Posted on

I’ve been long struggling to find a method of keeping track of my progress in a variety of activities; dancing, working out/yoga, learning Spanish & HTML, saving money, paying bills, finding my passion in life, etc. So rather than go out and buy a planner and some notebooks that I would have to meticulously update, I opted for the digital option. I hope that one day I can look back and reflect on my entries and marvel at the distance I have covered. Not really, that’s a bit corny, but I hope this blog gives me that extra bit of motivation to make things happen. As I stated above, this blog is a progress tracker. Nothing more. I am challenging myself to increase my human capital. Maybe along the way I can find something that really gets my motor running, an activity that makes me slap my alarm clock in the morning because I am so psyched to get out of bed and begin work. I have some general directions that I will follow. First, I would like to improve my skills and efficiency in a number of tasks, the most important of which I listed in the opening paragraph. Dancing is important to me because it not only allows me to express myself, but it is also great for general fitness and its one helluva a social activity. Along the lines of fitness, working out has always been something important to me. When I am not able to break a sweat, I start breaking my own nerves and stress mounts rapidly. I’m like a Border Collie, I need to be taken out for a run once a day. Unfortunately for me, running is not the most ideal option due to my nagging knee injuries (I’ve had 3 knee surgeries in the past 2 years). Along with dance, I have planned out a weight routine that is a full-body workout which I will complete 3 days a week every other day. In between my weight workouts, I plan on attending yoga classes. If you’ve never attended a yoga class, I strongly recommend trying. Call me a liberal, left-winged, dope-smoking, occupy-anything, save-the-whales Boulderite as much a you’d like, as long as I’m doing yoga, I’m cool with it. I gain flexibility, improve balance, develop an incredible amount of core strength, and I haven’t even mentioned girls in yoga pants yet. Yoga is legit. Physical improvement is only half of the equation. I’m 23 years young and like many others in my age group, I have no idea what I want to do with my life. Not a clue. I’ve heard people wiser than myself preach about finding something that you can be passionate about early in life and pour everything you have into it. Wish it was that easy to find something to pour myself into. I have a plan, however. I’ve enrolled in a few community college courses this upcoming semester and I hope to broaden my horizon of possibilities. My whole adult life (all 2 years of it), I am sorry to say, have been wasted on many tasks that I believed would make me the most amount of money when I grew older. Stupid thing to do, but retrospect is 20/20. For the first time in my life, I’m saying ‘Fu*k it’. I’m going to pursue interests of mine that would have many affluent parents pulling their kids college funding immediately. Lucky for me, I have always paid for my own education so it’s entirely my choice. Lastly, I want this blog to serve as a reminder to me to keep moving forward. Always keep moving forward. It is marvelous what a dedicated 15-30 minutes a day on any given activity can amount to in only a few months. I need to keep telling myself that “Someday, in the not so distant future, I won’t have to deal with these problems anymore.” This is it. I’m sure things will change drastically as I continue to write on here, but here’s to running up to a ledge, not even looking over it first, and jumping.

Leave a Reply

